Philippine Glaucoma Society

by Dr. Pamela C. Allarey

The Philippine Glaucoma Society (PGS) elected its board of directors and officers for the term 2015-2016. The officers elected were Drs. Joseph Anthony Tumbocon as president, Ma. Margarita Lat-Luna as vice president; Maria Hannah Pia de Guzman as secretary; and Manuel Delfin Jr. as Treasurer. Other board members chosen were Drs. Benjamin Abela Jr., Rommel Bautista, Nilo Vincent Florcruz II, Jose Ma. Martinez, and Alexander Joseph Reyes. The election was held at the SMX Convention Center on November 12, 2014 and was presided by Dr. Manolito Reyes, a past PGS president and 2014 Comelec head. Outgoing PGS president, Dr. Jose Maria Martinez conducted a business meeting prior to the election and endorsed projects that need to be continued by the incoming set of officers. Two new members of the society were also accepted earlier that day after an applicant evaluation process conducted by the current board and past presidents of the PGS. The new members are Maria Catherina G. Coronel-Nasol, who practices in Pampanga and Metro Manila, and Aldo- Mar Cariaga from Baguio City.

On November 13, 2014, A/P Paul Chew from the National University Hospital in Singapore was also awarded honorary membership status to the society for his contributions to Philippine ophthalmology, namely his collaboration with Philippine glaucoma specialists in research and education, and his supervision of numerous local and international research students and seventeen clinical fellows, nine of which are Filipinos.